Camera control principles

Started by Bisqwit, December 30, 2011, 04:13:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bisqwit

Often when I hang around on the TLO servers and/or participate in RPs, I see a phenomenon which I have dubbed the broken neck syndrome. It means characters always looking down in a sharp angle, usually somewhat to either side.
When it does not look nasty, it just looks stupid.

I treat RPs as an art very similar to the profession of acting. I also see similarities to the task of cameramen. I am not a professional at either art, but both areas fascinate me greatly.
I believe that in an immersive RP, what you do or say is equally approached in importance also by how you look.

You should make your character believable: Using emotes and gestures that really augment what you are trying to convey and portray, but also have them look at whatever they should be focusing at. That is, basically, whenever another player happens to look at your character, what he sees is a perfectly credible portrayal of a character doing their job according to the RP's plot. Even if nobody is around, there might be someone spectating, or maybe an admin can replay the session from the logs (I don't know whether it's possible). And it makes you happy knowing your performance is impeccable. ;)

Now, it is also true, that you need to see your surroundings. When you are sitting at the console, pressing buttons, or you are scanning a greeble on the engineering walls, you are going to miss a part of game experience if all you do is look at the buttons and glance at the screens once in a while. You need to get a view of what the others are doing. That is why you use the third-person mode.
However, when you go into the third-person mode, often what happens is that you move the view around with your mouse, and you completely forgo whatever the character is supposed be looking at, thereby invoking the broken neck phenomenon.