Map-Pack for Newbies...

Started by Danfun64, January 20, 2013, 01:59:37 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Danfun64

Hello. I just recently began to start playing this game. And I find that there are many maps on the server which don't come in the complete edition of RPG-X. Since I'm a beginner, I would appreciate a map pack containing essential levels needed for the server.

Thanks in advance.
In-game I appear as "Scrappy the Terrible"

Klaw

There are a couple issues here

1. a map pack of "essentials" would be a huge file to download.

2. alot of map makers aren't around anymore... so we can't exactly ask for permission to include their map in such a thing.

I like the idea (and I'm working on a map pack of my own works) but it wouldn't be practical for the reasons listed above.

Your best bet is, when you see a map on the server that you've never played on, look in our downloads section

or, use Eliteforce files and you should be able to find what you're looking for (Maybe 95% of the time)

Martin Thompson

Once we finish our downloads systems, we can make a special page listing all "essential"  downloads. I think that would be a good idea as you would have all basic files listed ther without having to download 50 gb's worth of data in one package (and ther's also the author issue mentioned by Klaw).

Danfun64

earlier on your server I noticed that I lacked 6 pk3's on my system. I'm sorry if I'm not supposed to have them (not supposed to be there) but if that isn't the case... not to mention you have no download link. So it would take HOURS to download everything. Then the server restarts without those maps while the download is incomplete. Yeah...

The first one it tried to download is zzzzzzzzzz_normandy_v2.pk3 or something like that. I couldn't find said map for some reason. Again, if that is only for certain players then it doesn't matter. If that isn't the case....

Veritas

Are you using RPGXCE, Danfun64?