The Last Outpost

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

Latest Announcements

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Some maps work, some don't.  (Read 1722 times)

Russell Xokon

  • Senior Officer (R)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
Some maps work, some don't.
« on: August 03, 2011, 10:27:30 pm »

First of all, I should say first that I use RPGXCE. So, I'm wondering why when I install some maps, (And I put them in my RPG-X2 file) they don't show up in my list of maps. For example, when I installed the S.S. Dagger map, I put it in my RPG-X2 folder and when I went on the Create a Server thing, it wasn't there. So, I tried moving it to my BaseEF folder, and it still wasn't there. I reinstalled it, and it still won't work. This isn't a problem with the game, as other maps will install. Help?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Jenson

  • Member-in-Chief
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5714
  • Former President of TLO (2010-2014)
    • View Profile
Re: Some maps work, some don't.
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 10:35:30 pm »

I'm not entirely certain as to why, but most maps won't show up on that menu if you're trying to create a server. You should instead bring down the console while in the main menu and type in

/map

you can find a list of mapnames by typing in /dir map into the console
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Russell Xokon

  • Senior Officer (R)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
Re: Some maps work, some don't.
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2011, 11:46:05 pm »

Yeah, that worked. Thanks. :D
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Martin Thompson

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3458
  • A new adventure always awaits
    • View Profile
    • withMartin.net
Re: Some maps work, some don't.
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2011, 03:26:32 am »

Also, it helps to put all your maps in BaseEF. That doesn't fix the not showing up in the create server thing, but is generally better regarding as to how the game loads files.

Also, maps don't show up in that menu if they are missing a certain file in their .pk3. I'm not sure what this is though,
I've always wondered myself though but never figured it out since i always use the /map command.

Another usefull tip, if you press /map and then a letter, say, "/map u"
and then press tab, every map that starts with a u will appear in a list. Might help you
look for a map you know the starting name of. This trick only works with RPG-X though since thats a nice
feature of RPG-X, it doesn't work with a normal holomatch game, but if you are using RPG-X CE, you shouldn't
worry about that ;)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Klaw

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3525
    • View Profile
    • Klaw's Mapping Class
Re: Some maps work, some don't.
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2011, 09:20:47 am »

Quote from: "Martin Thompson"
Also, it helps to put all your maps in BaseEF. That doesn't fix the not showing up in the create server thing, but is generally better regarding as to how the game loads files.

Just wanna mention one thing: be careful about putting stuff in the baseef

I used to do that, until my Single player of Elite force stopped working (Something you won't have to worry about as you're usinf RPGXCE). I put all my files in RPG-X2, as do alot of other people here, and things work just as good.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Martin Thompson

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3458
  • A new adventure always awaits
    • View Profile
    • withMartin.net
Re: Some maps work, some don't.
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2011, 04:26:37 pm »

True, I'm just in the habit of putting everyting besides ranksets and of course rpg-x packs in the rpg-x folder. Had to do with Elite Force enumerating stuff.. I think its an old habit from Vanilla EF. io and rpgx ef don't have those problems anymore as far as i know.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Pages: [1]