The Last Outpost

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

Latest Announcements

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console  (Read 1223 times)

Apprentice

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
    • http://www.apprentice.tk
[RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« on: May 03, 2012, 12:47:27 pm »

Hey guys,

Last Sunday during the AB session, I was on a borrowed rig unable to access the console with the ioCow version that was shipped with the RPG-X CE package. Instead of the console, I got an error message on the background (game continued to play normally), which I have included with a dump in this post.

Given the fact that turbomarcin developed the ioCow version (and subsequently disappeared years ago), I do not expect that TLO can find a fix for this problem but I do want to know if there are any other players who have this problem and especially members from the European or non-English regions who do have for example the following characters in their languages:
- é
- ï
- à

I only have this problem with the shipped ioCow version. With the other iostvoyHM versions (1.37 & 1.38), I can access the console normally but I cannot use them for the TLO servers because they want to download all the files from the server and since that is not possible, I can't join using those or does anyone knows a console command that prevents that requirement ??
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Veritas

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4673
    • View Profile
    • The Last Outpost
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 02:10:11 pm »

Hey there - first, sometimes the text corruption you describe is caused by an incomplete installation of RPGXCE - uninstalling, fully redownloading and reinstalling might be worth trying.

However, failing that, I've got a couple other questions so I can pinpoint what's going on:

First, are you using RPGXCE in English or some other language?
Second, are you able to load local maps properly in the iostvoyHM versions?

You might want to try setting cl_autodownload to 0 in order to connect - open the console and type /cl_autodownload 0. RPGXCE should execute this by default, but ioSTVEF might be eating the part of the autoexec that does that.

Lastly, you can ignore that ioCow error - we all get it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Apprentice

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
    • http://www.apprentice.tk
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2012, 03:14:56 pm »

Quote from: "Veritas"
Hey there - first, sometimes the text corruption you describe is caused by an incomplete installation of RPGXCE - uninstalling, fully redownloading and reinstalling might be worth trying.
The version I have copied onto the borrowed rig was copied from my laptop, which doesn't have this issue.

I think I know what is causing this issue, since I had something similar when I used the Steam program. Whenever I tried to open the console with HL2, I had to enter an A, E, I, O or U followed by a backspace and then I could use it. If I didn't, then the console would disappear and I think the ioCow console bug is something down the same line, which is due to the English language who doesn't have é, ï or à characters and an oversight at the end of Microsoft. If I set the input language (regional settings) from Dutch/US International to English/US International, then I don't have this problem (Laptop has been set this way).

Anyone else can confirm this ??

Quote from: "Veritas"
You might want to try setting cl_autodownload to 0 in order to connect - open the console and type /cl_autodownload 0. RPGXCE should execute this by default, but ioSTVEF might be eating the part of the autoexec that does that.
Thanks. I'll try that when I'm able . . .
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Veritas

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4673
    • View Profile
    • The Last Outpost
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2012, 02:51:57 pm »

Any luck/further news on this?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Apprentice

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
    • http://www.apprentice.tk
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2012, 05:22:06 pm »

Quote from: "Veritas"
Any luck/further news on this?
I haven't tried it yet because I'm not there anymore  ;)

I'm going to try it next weekend with the next AB session . . .
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Apprentice

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
    • http://www.apprentice.tk
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2012, 04:52:38 am »

Quote from: "Veritas"
/cl_autodownload 0
Unknown command on both ioCow and iostvoyHM versions . . .
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

GSIO01

  • Captain (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2012, 06:34:34 am »

I know we not on the best terms with each other but I'll be trying help anyway.

Veritas did a mistake there ... it's cl_allowdownload
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Apprentice

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
    • http://www.apprentice.tk
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2012, 08:55:06 am »

Quote from: "GSIO01"
I know we not on the best terms with each other but I'll be trying help anyway.
I have no quarrel with you and that Tim is unable to see anything else then his perspective and his perspective alone, is not your wrongdoing . . .

Quote
Veritas did a mistake there ... it's cl_allowdownload
I've tried that but iostvoyHM still hangs on downloading all PK3 files that are on the server . . .
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

GSIO01

  • Captain (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2012, 10:12:03 am »

Hmmm .... also make sure to check if cg_allowdownload is 0 as well which is the cgame variable for downloads.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Martin Thompson

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3459
  • A new adventure always awaits
    • View Profile
    • withMartin.net
Re: [RPGXCE] Unable to access the console
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2012, 12:50:12 pm »

Quote from: "Apprentice"
Quote
Veritas did a mistake there ... it's cl_allowdownload
I've tried that but iostvoyHM still hangs on downloading all PK3 files that are on the server . . .

I just use the menu to do that. Options and then advanced or something like that (the tab with a few optiosn jsut on the left side of the screen). Auto Download should be in that menu somewhere, just set it to off.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Pages: [1]