The Last Outpost

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

Latest Announcements

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: windows vista sp1  (Read 1242 times)

Telex Ferra

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3835
    • View Profile
windows vista sp1
« on: September 23, 2010, 06:44:52 pm »

I tried to update to sp1 a few days ago. Unfortunately, this has caused BSOD whenever windows loads. Ive tried doing a system restore to return windows to pre-sp1, but the system just sits for hours "finalizing" the restore.

I have tried 4-5 times now to no avail. I am going to try scanning the disc for inconsistencies using DOS' scandisk command.

If any of you have any ideas then please help. I am posting this from my ipod so please forgive grammar and spelling mistakes. Also, consider this an LOA and a cancellarltion of ulyssea until i can repair my system.

Plz help guys :(
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged




Veritas

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4673
    • View Profile
    • The Last Outpost
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2010, 09:41:06 pm »

You have a couple options: You can boot off a Linux boot disk, rescue as many files as you can, then reinstall windows, or you can try to re-upgrade Windows Vista (to Vista or 7) by reinstalling from your startup disk - what this'll do to your data, it's hard to say. You should try booting into safe mode, also, by holding down F8 or F12 (depending on system) at startup, and then hitting "safe mode" - also try "restore last known good configuration" if it's available. Once your system starts booting into safe mode, watch the list of DLLs loaded - and take note of where the blue screen appears, if at all. When it does, try to write down the STOP error it gives you - that'll help with troubleshooting - but if the BSOD doesn't appear, and you can get into safe mode, try reapplying the update or uninstalling it using Add & Remove Programs.

For now, I definitely recommend going to www.linuxmint.com on another computer, and downloading and burning the bootable ISO. That'll give you a working operating system from which you can use Firefox and MSN and all those kinds of things until we can get this all working again, and will allow you to mount your HD (assuming it's functional, which if you can start the boot process it probably is) and extract your data.

If all else fails, you're going to have to reinstall - that's really the only way about it - and I'd recommend giving Windows 7 a try instead of Vista; it's much, much more stable.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Telex Ferra

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3835
    • View Profile
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2010, 12:40:56 am »

I might replace my computer. Does rpgx run on win7?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged




Haddock Wolf

  • New TLO Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 01:04:08 am »

Well, It normally does for me, and I use the 64-bit version.. If you need one badly, you should get it now, but if it can wait a while, I'd wait until the Christmas season, when all the sales happen. It'll also allow you to save up and get an even better computer.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged
[align=center]
"There is a simple solution to everything, the trouble is finding it." - Alexander Hess
"Its not how long you've lived but how MUCH you've lived" -The Doctor[/align]

Veritas

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4673
    • View Profile
    • The Last Outpost
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2010, 07:29:25 am »

Works great for me - but I'd caution that it's highly unlikely this is a hardware problem -  much more likely to be a bad Vista install than a bad HD or motherboard, especially if the system begins to load before bluescreening - so you don't *need* to replace it unless you want to anyway.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

James David

  • New TLO Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2010, 10:40:07 am »

I have Windows 7 Ultimate N 32bit on upgrade from an XP install and there was no formalities and so far ive had no problems both from programs or issues I had with the XP OS. RPG-X hasnt gave me any problems in the case of the OS causing problems either. Though N and KN versions do not come with Windows Media Player.


I dont reccomend Home/Office/Student editions of 7 either. Ultimate is the only way to fly.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Veritas

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4673
    • View Profile
    • The Last Outpost
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2010, 10:54:13 am »

I have Professional - it has all the features of ultimate except for one or two network admin tools I don't use.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Telex Ferra

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3835
    • View Profile
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2010, 05:01:30 pm »

I want a new comp anyway.

Microsoft still is going to send me a free bootdisk
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged




Taisen-74656

  • Guest
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2010, 08:26:33 pm »

Lol, to be honest, Windows 7 Ultimate/Professional (as compared to Home Premium) has few more features that most people use. Perhaps the only incentive to go Pro would be XP mode (but even that feature isn't completely necessary :P). Save a $100 or so and don't go Ultimate... XD

If you do get a new computer, make sure to post up your new specs! Good luck!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Telex Ferra

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3835
    • View Profile
Re: windows vista sp1
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2010, 10:14:46 pm »

Hey guys. Could you tell me how to get ef working on win7 64bit
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged




Pages: [1]