The Last Outpost

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

<

A vSlider Image

>

Latest Announcements

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: EF2 - EF1 Conversion  (Read 1857 times)

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« on: August 29, 2011, 09:02:16 am »

Hey,

I'm trying to convert MY OWN MAP (just to clear up ownership issues) from EF2 to EF1 (so we can have a shiny new map for RPG-X) but i'm having a few issues.

I've got rid of all entities, models, triggers and origins, and i've converted it from EF2 to EF1 using UberRadiant's "Export to game" function.
However, I can't for the life of me get it to open in GTK 1.5. All i get presented with is a blank map once it's loaded.
I want to open it in GTK because I fear that the compiler in UberRadiant may not be suitable for EF1.

I've managed to convert "USS Atlantis" (from it's source on the iWant studios website, and for my own personal use) into EF2 AND get it playing in-game, so I know it can be done that way (ie EF1 to EF2) but not sure if there's anything I haven't done to get a EF2 to EF1 conversion working properly.

Is it that EF2 maps (regardless of exported game) are tied to UberRadiant as an editor?

&b4 I prefer uberradiant to gtk, I find EF2 mapping a lot easier than EF1 mapping.

Link to EF2 map: http://eliteforce2.filefront.com/file/U ... eta;118665

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Telex Ferra

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3835
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 10:43:41 am »

This isn't really my field but I know for a fact that EF2 uses a scale that's either 1.5x larger or smaller than EF1....(shot in the dark but...) could that be the problem?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged




Johnf

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • JF Media Studios
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2011, 11:35:46 am »

Instead of trying to open the map try importing it into a new map. I know that GTK radiant can be picky sometimes (it once killed one of my maps that all I had was a blank map when opening but I got it working again by using the import function, odd I know).
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2011, 11:42:19 am »

Quote from: "Telex Ferra"
This isn't really my field but I know for a fact that EF2 uses a scale that's either 1.5x larger or smaller than EF1....(shot in the dark but...) could that be the problem?

Nah, that's not a problem, there's a tool that can scale the whole level to the required size, i did that to make the Atlantis playable in EF2.

Quote from: "Johnf"
Instead of trying to open the map try importing it into a new map. I know that GTK radiant can be picky sometimes (it once killed one of my maps that all I had was a blank map when opening but I got it working again by using the import function, odd I know).

I just tried that but i get the same result.
All of the textures (because they're stock EF2 textures) are failing in GTK, could that be a reason? there's so many failures that it just refuses to open?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Johnf

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • JF Media Studios
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2011, 11:48:15 am »

If it can't find the texture it should just plaster everything with a red and black no texture texture so that wouldn't be the reason.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2011, 11:57:51 am »

It's a pretty huge map, so is there any limit to what gtk can render or something like that?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Johnf

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • JF Media Studios
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2011, 12:04:03 pm »

GTK Radiant can handle far more than the games can, have you tried zooming out as much as possible to see if the structure is located elsewhere to the map centre? I'm also having a look through some mapping resources to see if anyone has done this before.

Edit: I'm afraid I haven't been able to find anything else that could help you sorry. Looks like you might have to remap from scratch.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 12:22:35 pm by Johnf »
Logged

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2011, 12:20:43 pm »

the only reference i can find is on this forum thread: http://forum.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t= ... c0f5fc84e3

Fourth post from the bottom, states that GTK has problems loading maps exported from UberRadiant.

I'll try compiling in UberRadiant and loading up in EF1 but I doubt it'll work.
I can't even get a player_start entity in UberRadiant when in EF1 mode.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Johnf

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • JF Media Studios
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2011, 12:26:10 pm »

I was just thinking, what if you tried loading the map up in another Quake 3 editor like Hammer world editor for the original Half Life?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2011, 12:31:21 pm »

hmm.....

any specific version? or can i use the version that downloads with HL2 on steam?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Johnf

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • JF Media Studios
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2011, 12:34:27 pm »

That is a source engine based version. You'll want version 3.5 http://games.softpedia.com/get/Tools/Va ... itor.shtml and this will help get it set up http://home.comcast.net/~ninjagrinch/hammercfg.htm
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2011, 12:35:55 pm »

Alright, thanks.

I'm going to try QuArK aswell: http://quark.sourceforge.net/

might work better as EF and EF2 are properly supported
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2011, 01:26:13 pm »

I think i'm just going to have to rebuild it.

or leave it in the dust with EF2 and build a new map altogether....

one or the other, seems more hassle trying to convert than it's worth.

Thanks for the help though guys!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Veritas

  • Elder Statesperson
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4673
    • View Profile
    • The Last Outpost
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2011, 06:03:35 pm »

Sorry it won't be possible - good luck!

Of course, a version of RPG-X that runs on EF2 would solve a -lot- of problems with EF RPing... but that is a pipe dream :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged

Nuclear_Sunshine

  • Provisional Officer (G)
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: EF2 - EF1 Conversion
« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2011, 06:24:36 am »

well, there is the RPG-Mod that Hazard Modding produced.

It's more like the first version of the ERPG mod produced, but it's got ranks, classes, and other things.
Take a look here: http://www.moddb.com/mods/hazardmodding-rpg-script-mod

It's under creative commons license aswell, so if anyone is feeling up to it, we could put together a team, and truly make it EF2's version of RPG-X.

And I just want to point out that it works really well with my Ark Royal map posted above :)

RP'ing is quite possible on EF2 without the RPG mod, just like it's quite possible on EF1 without RPG-X, but I suppose people are after a lot more :)


Edit: There are quite a few EF1 maps that are possible to convert over to EF2, such as Poseidon-B, because the source files have been released and they are free to use as long as credit is given to the author/s. So technically, the number of RPG maps for EF2 is already quite huge.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Guest »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2